Outside Looking In

 

I’m on the outside looking in
They’re on the inside looking out
They don’t see me standing here
I’m an apparition earthly bound

Through the glass the world is warped
Glowing with the warmth of life
Through my lens the lights refract
Growing darker with the night

I’m in the corners out of view
Muffled sounds growing dim
Shadows mask my soul from you
I’m an outsider looking in

A touch of warmth filters through
To my fingers pale and throbbing
The cool glass returns the touch
Reality diverges as I am watching

A stony glance from within
Corner’s eye condemning
I’m on the outside once again
Callous glares compounding

Outward looking from the sphere
Reverse polarity turns and bends
Watching life from behind the weir
I’m an outsider looking in

Lovely days pass hours daunting
Light yields drawing darkness in
Dread of night, shadows haunting
Another night begins

Invisible people passing by
Gnashing teeth and crawling skin
I’m watching them with staring eyes
They’e on the outside looking in

Fighting battles I can’t win
I’m an outsider looking in

 

 

Leave a Reply

